The rapid development of new cloud-based applications and IT services is creating ever-increasing diversity in the market and the multi-cloud has long become a reality. In addition, the enormous demand for connectivity and bandwidth often pushes existing network infrastructures and operations to their limits. On the one hand, this poses significant challenges for service providers to effectively keep up with accelerated development. On the other, it offers opportunities for gaining competitive advantages.

However, service providers need to use the industry’s best innovative business enhancement solutions in order to react with more agility to the needs of the market and also to become more efficient and secure.  It is at this point that software-based approaches come into play, allowing rapid and effective responses to new requirements based on intelligent networking, enhanced visibility with analytics and highly automated processes and providing connectivity, security and manageability for complex and widely distributed infrastructures. It is in this context that Juniper Networks offers their Contrail products, SDN-enabled management and control software for simplified service delivery. This tech blog gives an overview of the history of Contrail and the different Contrail products which can help to boost your business.

 

The beginning of Contrail

Back in 2012, Juniper Networks acquired Contrail Systems, taking a big step forward in software-defined networking (SDN). Contrail was disruptive in the early beginnings of the SDN movement because it introduced the principal of networking-as-a-service, abstracted through a single pane of glass for both, virtual and physical environments.

One year after the acquisition of Contrail Systems, at the end of 2013, Juniper made their Contrail Networking software available as an official commercial product, while also providing a full commercial support service. At the same time, Juniper also open-sourced the Contrail technology under the Apache 2.0 license as OpenContrail. Giving the Contrail technology back to the community has provided developers with the possibility of contributing to this project and given service providers and businesses the flexibility to adjust Contrail to their specific needs.


Tungsten Fabric – OpenContrail migrated to the Linux Foundation

In March 2018 Juniper Networks went another step further and migrated OpenContrail – the Open Source project – to the Linux Foundation to make it even more “open”. This move is a fundamental change for the project as it means that the Linux Foundation is now the owner. In this context, the open source project was given a new name, Tungsten Fabric, which also helps to provide better separation between the Open Source project and Juniper Networks commercial product line, Contrail.

 

The Contrail product family

Contrail Networking Contrail Security Contrail Service Orchestration Contrail HealthBot
Contrail Cloud Contrail Enterprise Multicloud
Contrail SD-WAN Contrail Edge Cloud

 


 

Contrail Networking

Contrail Networking is Juniper Networks’ commercial version of Tungsten Fabric. It is a pure software-defined approach that provides multi-cloud and fabric management, automation for infrastructures and service management, as well as analytics in multi-cloud environments. It implements a virtual networking overlay layer that delivers virtual routing, bridging and networking services over any existing physical or cloud network. With regard to the cloud, this approach helps to connect heterogeneous cloud environments.

Contrail Networking consists of the following key components:

  • The Contrail SDN Controller which is logically centralised but physically distributed and responsible for providing the management, control and analytics functions of the virtualised network.
  • The Contrail vRouter which runs on compute nodes of the infrastructure and gets its information from the control function nodes of the SDN Controller.
  • The Web GUI and Plug-ins which integrate orchestration platforms such as Kubernetes, OpenShift, Mesos, OpenStack or VMware vSphere northbound via published REST APIs.

 


 

Contrail Cloud

In 2014 Juniper not only announced their vMX – the virtualised version of the MX Router which can run on x86 servers – but also the Contrail Cloud platform which is an extended version of Contrail adjusted for telco cloud environments to run innovative services on high-performance NFV. Contrail Cloud features Red Hat OpenStack (RHOS) combined with Juniper Contrail Networking which brings highly scalable network connectivity and dynamic cloud orchestration together.


Contrail Cloud Architecture

Furthermore, Contrail Cloud leverages AppFormix, which has a built-in automation capability powered by machine learning to run cloud infrastructure and VNFs in the most optimal manner and remediate any potential failures to ensure adherence to SLAs.

 

 


 

Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO)

At the end of 2016 Juniper released Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO) as a comprehensive management and orchestration platform for managing cloud CPE deployments and other virtualised network services. CSO helps businesses and service providers to reduce service delivery times for managed services through a near real-time mouse-click experience by automating the entire service delivery life cycle.

Contrail Service Orchestration comes with the following key components:

  • The Network Service Designer, which provides an intuitive point-and-click interface for defining the services of Juniper and third-party virtualised network functions (VNFs).
  • The Administration portal, with a monitoring and troubleshooting service on the health and status of customers’ on-premise and hybrid cloud-based services.
  • The Customer Portal for end-users is a unified portal with access to functions governed by a role-based access control (RBAC) to provide a per Tenant Admin and Tenant Operator role.
  • The Network Service Controller automates the entire CPE management process, including remote activation of the CPE devices, enablement of the overlay VPN topology, and device maintenance and monitoring across all site locations.
  • The Network Service Orchestrator automates and orchestrates the entire service creation process, from the time a customer designs, publishes and selects a new network service across the whole network.
  • The SD-WAN Controller gives end-customers control and visibility of WAN traffic via the customer portal.
  • Security Management provides the ability to orchestrate managed security services.

 

 


 

Contrail SD-WAN

Juniper’s Contrail SD-WAN solution is a fit for service providers offering end-to-end SD-WAN solutions and larger businesses building their own independent end-to-end overlay-based network. The SD-WAN orchestration and controller functions of the Contrail SD-WAN solution are implemented through Juniper’s Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO) software.

For more details on this solution, please visit our Contrail SD-WAN Tech Blog.

 


 

Contrail Security

In August 2017 Juniper released their software product Contrail Security for Enterprises and Service Providers to “protect, manage and monitor their cloud-native applications in heterogeneous environments.“ (Press Release August 2017) During recent decades, there has been an explosion in the number of security policies designed on the one hand to handle the wide variety of applications, endpoints and diverse environments and, on the other,  the required flexible managing of those policies in case of changes on the other side. This highly complex setting needed an innovative approach to simplify operations and to manage cloud environments effectively.


“Microservices and Cloud-Native Apps Need a Security Revolution. Contrail Security Delivers.” (J-Net Forum)

It is here that Contrail Security steps in, as it offers a consistent and intent-based policy layer which gives you abstraction to extend the same set of policies to different settings so that you, for example, don’t need to rewrite your policies depending on the deployment scenario. Furthermore, Contrail Security comes with visualisations and analytics to track application flows within and across multi-cloud environments, which enables reporting, troubleshooting and compliance. And finally, it also offers scalable and performant L4 and L7 enforcement.

The Cloud Security Platform includes the following two key components:

  • The Security Controller is the brain of the Contrail Security solution, with an interface for defining security intents. The controller itself translates high-level abstract intents into lower level constructs, which are propagated to the enforcement elements.
  • The Contrail Security vRouter is a virtual enforcement element, which is installed where application workloads might be initiated and enforces security policies inline. The vRouter can also reroute traffic to L7 firewalls if needed.

 

 


 

Contrail Enterprise Multicloud

At the end of 2017 Juniper announced their Contrail Enterprise Multicloud platform for managing virtual network fabrics even across multiple clouds – whether the clouds are private, public or hybrid. This software platform can be used in Greenfield or even Brownfield with devices from other vendors.


Why Enterprises Should Care About Multicloud Security” (J-Net Forum)

While Contrail Networking with its vRouter is the key element of this platform, the new and intuitive user-interface, Contrail Command, removes the complexity of multi-cloud networking through intent-based abstraction and simplifies managing of multi-cloud environments. Contrail Enterprise Multicloud also comes with AppFormix and is compatible with orchestration platforms such as OpenStack, Kubernetes or OpenShift.

 

 


 

Contrail Edge Cloud

Contrail Edge Cloud was introduced in late 2018 and is a software-based platform specially adjusted to the needs of service providers that want to build and manage new services in the space- and power-constrained network edge. The platform combines the benefits of Contrail Networking, Red Hat Ceph Storage, Red Hat OpenStack (RHOS), Kubernetes and AppFormix. This solution also comes with the virtualised security features provided by Contrail Security and the cSRX container-based firewall.

 

 


 

Contrail HealthBot

Contrail HealthBot is a software-based solution for network deployments, introduced in late 2018, and one of the latest developments in the Juniper Networks Contrail product family. The Contrail HealthBot provides network health and diagnostic  tools integrated with multiple data collection methods such as Junos Telemetry Interface (JTI), NETCONF, Syslog and SNMP. On a device-level, the tool aggregates and analyses time-sensitive telemetry data for providing a multidimensional and predictive view of the network. By combining telemetry, programmability, advanced algorithms and machine learning capabilities, Contrail HealthBot implements efficient ways to transform analytics data into useful information to optimise network operations.


 

The web-based Dashboard offers a simple and intuitive visualisation of the current network state and also provides a service designer to intelligently automate service maintenance and sustain overall performance goals. Because of its open programmability, service providers and businesses can customise their health monitoring and diagnostics workflows.

 

 


MrMrsMs

 

 

Please find here further information regarding data protection.

Die rasante Entwicklung neuer Cloud-basierter Anwendungen und IT-Services schafft eine immer größere Vielfalt im Markt und Multi-Cloud ist längst Realität geworden. Darüber hinaus treibt der enorme Bedarf an Konnektivität und Bandbreite bestehende Netzwerkinfrastrukturen und deren Betrieb oft an ihre Grenzen. Dies stellt einerseits erhebliche Herausforderungen für Service-Provider dar, die mit der beschleunigten Entwicklung Schritt halten müssen, andererseits bietet es aber auch die Möglichkeit, sich Wettbewerbsvorteile zu verschaffen.

Um das Geschäft zu optimieren, agiler und gleichzeitig effizienter und sicherer zu werden, müssen Service-Provider allerdings stets die besten und innovativsten Lösungen am Markt einsetzen. An dieser Stelle kommen Software-basierte Ansätze ins Spiel, die eine entsprechend schnelle und effektive Reaktion auf neue Anforderungen im Markt ermöglichen. Mit intelligenter Vernetzung, verbesserter Transparenz mittels neuer Analysemöglichkeiten und hochautomatisierten Prozessen sorgen sie für verbesserte Konnektivität, mehr Sicherheit und vereinfachtes Management komplexer und weit verteilter Infrastrukturen. Mit „Contrail“ bietet auch Juniper Networks SDN-fähige Management- und Steuerungs-Lösungen zur vereinfachten Service-Bereitstellung. Dieser Tech-Blog gibt einen Überblick über die Geschichte der Contrail-Software und die verschiedenen Produkte zur Unterstützung im Service-Provider-Business.

Der Beginn von Contrail

Bereits in 2012 übernahm Juniper Networks das Unternehmen Contrail Systems und machte damit den ersten großen Schritt im Bereich Software-defined Networking (SDN). Contrail zeichnete sich in den frühen Anfängen der SDN-Bewegung dadurch aus, dass das Prinzip Networking-as-a-Service zum Einsatz kam, wodurch virtuelle und physische Umgebungen abstrahiert werden.

Ein Jahr später – Ende 2013 – stellte Juniper seine Contrail Networking-Plattform als offizielles kommerzielles Produkt vor und führte gleichzeitig einen umfassenden Support ein. Zudem wurde die Contrail-Technologie unter der Apache-2.0-Lizenz als Open-Source-Projekt OpenContrail veröffentlicht. Die Rückgabe der Technologie an die Community ermöglichte es Entwicklern, am Projekt mitzuwirken und Unternehmen erhielten die Flexibilität, Contrail an spezifische Bedürfnisse anzupassen.


Tungsten Fabric – Migration von OpenContrail zur Linux Foundation

Im März 2018 ging Juniper Networks noch weiter und migrierte OpenContrail zur Linux Foundation – ein Schritt, der das Projekt nicht nur noch weiter öffnete, er machte auch Linux Foundation zum Eigentümer. In diesem Rahmen änderte man auch den Namen zu Tungsten Fabric, was eine bessere Trennung von Open-Source-Projekt und der kommerziellen Contrail-Produktlinie von Juniper Networks zulässt.

 

Die Contrail-Produktfamilie

Contrail Networking Contrail Security Contrail Service Orchestration Contrail HealthBot
Contrail Cloud Contrail Enterprise Multicloud
Contrail SD-WAN Contrail Edge Cloud

 


 

Contrail Networking

Contrail Networking ist Juniper Networks kommerzielle Version der Tungsten Fabric. Es handelt sich um einen reinen Software-definierten Ansatz, der Multi-Cloud- und Fabric-Management, Automatisierung von Infrastrukturen und Service-Management sowie Analytik für Multi-Cloud-Umgebungen bietet. Contrail Networking implementiert eine virtuelle Netzwerk-Overlay-Schicht, die Routing-, Bridging- und Netzwerkdienste über bestehende physische oder Cloud-Netzwerke virtualisiert abbildet. Im Hinblick auf die Cloud hilft dieser Ansatz, heterogene Cloud-Umgebungen miteinander zu verbinden.

Contrail Networking besteht aus den folgenden Kernkomponenten:

  • Der Contrail SDN Controller, der logisch zentralisiert, aber physisch verteilt ist und die Bereitstellung der Management-, Steuerungs- und Analysefunktionen des virtualisierten Netzwerks verantwortet.
  • Der Contrail vRouter, der auf den Rechenknoten der Infrastruktur läuft und seine Informationen von den Kontrollfunktionsknoten des SDN-Controllers bezieht.
  • Web-GUI und Plug-Ins, mit denen Orchestrierungsplattformen wie Kubernetes, OpenShift, Mesos, OpenStack oder VMware vSphere über Northbound-REST-APIs integriert werden können.

 


 

Contrail Cloud

Im Jahr 2014 stellte Juniper nicht nur die vMX – die virtualisierte Version des MX-Routers, die auf x86-Servern betrieben werden kann – sondern auch die Contrail Cloud-Plattform vor. Dabei handelt es sich um eine für Telco-Cloud-Umgebungen erweiterte Version von Contrail Networking, um innovative Dienste auf leistungsstarkem NFV auszuführen. Contrail Cloud kombiniert Red Hat OpenStack (RHOS) mit Junipers Contrail Networking, was hochskalierbare Netzwerkverbindungen und dynamische Cloud-Orchestrierung vereint.


Contrail Cloud Architektur

Darüber hinaus kommt hier AppFormix zum Einsatz, das über zusätzliche, Machine Learning (ML) gestützte Automatisierungsfunktionen verfügt. So werden Cloud-Infrastrukturen und VNFs bestmöglich betrieben und die Einhaltung von SLAs wird sichergestellt.

 

 


 

Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO)

Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO) wurde von Juniper Networks Ende 2016 als eine umfassende Management- und Orchestrierungslösung zur Verwaltung von Cloud-CPE-Implementierungen und anderen virtualisierten Netzwerkdiensten auf den Markt gebracht. CSO unterstützt Service-Provider bei der Verkürzung der Service-Delivery-Time für Managed Services durch ein nahezu Echtzeit-Mausklick-Erlebnis, indem der gesamte Lebenszyklus der Service-Delivery automatisiert wird.

Contrail Service Orchestration umfasst folgende Kernkomponenten:

  • Der Network Service Designer, der eine intuitive Point-and-Click-Schnittstelle für die Definition virtualisierter Netzwerkfunktionen (VNFs) bereitstellt.
  • Das Administrationsportal ermöglicht die Überwachung und Fehlerbehebung lokaler und hybrider Cloud-basierter Dienste.
  • Das Kundenportal ist gesteuert durch rollenbasierte Zugriffskontrolle (RBAC) und bietet ein einheitliches Endbenutzer-Portal für den Zugriff auf diverse Funktionen.
  • Der Network Service Controller automatisiert den gesamten CPE-Managementprozess einschließlich der Fernaktivierung von CPEs, der Aktivierung der Overlay-VPN-Topologie sowie der Gerätewartung und -überwachung an allen Standorten.
  • Der Network Service Orchestrator automatisiert und orchestriert den gesamten Prozess der Serviceerstellung – von Konzeption, Veröffentlichung und Auswahl eines neuen Netzwerkdienstes über das gesamte Netzwerk hinweg.
  • Der SD-WAN Controller sorgt für Kontrolle und Sichtbarkeit des WAN-Verkehrs über das Kundenportal.
  • Über das Security Management werden Managed-Security-Services orchestriert.

 

 


 

Contrail SD-WAN

Juniper Networks Contrail SD-WAN-Lösung ist ideal für Service-Provider, die eine End-to-End SD-WAN-Lösungen anbieten, aber auch für größere Unternehmen, die ihr eigenes unabhängiges und End-to-End-Overlay-basiertes Netzwerk aufbauen. Die SD-WAN-Orchestrierungs- und Steuerungsfunktionen werden über Junipers Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO) implementiert.

Contrail SD-WAN wird in den kommenden Wochen ausführlich in einem Tech-Blog vorgestellt.
Wenn Sie weitere Informationen zu dieser Lösung wünschen oder über die Veröffentlichung des Blogs informiert werden möchten, verwenden Sie bitte das Kontaktformular am Ende dieser Seite.

 


 

Contrail Security

Im August 2017 veröffentlichte Juniper die Contrail Security-Plattform zum Schutz sowie zur Überwachung und Verwaltung Cloud-nativer Anwendungen in heterogenen Umgebungen (Pressemitteilung August 2017). Hintergrund hierzu war, dass in den vorausgehenden Jahren die Anzahl vorhandener Security-Richtlinien explodierte, um die Vielzahl an Anwendungen, Endpunkten und Umgebungen abzudecken, und ein flexibles Management dieser Richtlinien erforderlich wurde – ein hochkomplexer Zustand, der einen innovativen Ansatz zur Vereinfachung der Abläufe und zur effektiven Verwaltung von Cloud-Umgebungen erforderte.


“Microservices and Cloud-Native Apps Need a Security Revolution. Contrail Security Delivers.” (J-Net Forum)

Hier setzt Contrail Security mit seiner konsistenten und absichtsbasierten Richtlinien-Schicht an. Diese Abstraktion ermöglicht es, Richtlinien optimiert zu erstellen und beispielsweise auf verschiedene Einsatzszenarien auszudehnen. Darüber hinaus verfügt Contrail Security über Visualisierungen und Analysen zur Verfolgung von Datenflüssen innerhalb und zwischen Multi-Cloud-Umgebungen, die für Berichte, Fehlersuchen und Compliance-Themen herangezogen werden können. Zudem bietet Contrail Security ein skalierbares und leistungsstarkes Layer-4- und Layer-7-Enforcement.

Contrail Security umfasst die folgenden Hauptkomponenten:

  • Der Security Controller ist das Gehirn der Lösung mit Schnittstelle zur Definition von Sicherheitsabsichten; er übersetzt die abstrakten Absichten für die jeweiligen Durchsetzungselemente.
  • Der Contrail Security vRouter ist ein virtuelles Durchsetzungselement, das nahe den Anwendungs-Workloads installiert wird, wodurch Sicherheitsrichtlinien inline durchgesetzt werden; bei Bedarf leitet der vRouter den Datenverkehr zu L7-Firewalls um.

 

 


 

Contrail Enterprise Multicloud

Die Contrail Enterprise Multicloud-Plattform, mit der virtuelle Netzwerke auch über mehrere Clouds hinweg verwaltet werden können – unabhängig ob diese Cloud-Umgebungen von privater, öffentlicher oder hybrider Natur sind – stellte Juniper Networks Ende 2017 vor. Diese Software-Plattform kann in „Greenfield“- oder sogar „Brownfield“-Umgebungen mit Geräten anderer Hersteller eingesetzt werden.


Why Enterprises Should Care About Multicloud Security” (J-Net Forum)

Schlüsselelement der Plattform ist Contrail Networking mit dem vRouter, wobei die neue, intuitive Benutzeroberfläche Contrail Command die Komplexität der Multi-Cloud-Vernetzung durch eine absichtsbasierte Abstraktion beseitigt und damit die Verwaltung von Multi-Cloud-Umgebungen vereinfacht. Auch Contrail Enterprise Multicloud setzt AppFormix ein und ist kompatibel mit Orchestrierungsplattformen wie OpenStack, Kubernetes oder OpenShift.

 

 


 

Contrail Edge Cloud

Juniper Networks Contrail Edge Cloud wurde Ende 2018 vorgestellt. Die Software-basierte Plattform ist speziell auf die Anforderungen von Service-Providern zugeschnitten, die neue Dienste im platz- und leistungsbeschränkten Netzwerkbereich aufbauen und verwalten wollen. Contrail Edge Cloud kombiniert die Vorteile von Contrail Networking, Red Hat Ceph Storage, Red Hat OpenStack (RHOS), Kubernetes und AppFormix und umfasst auch die virtualisierten Sicherheitsfunktionen von Contrail Security sowie der cSRX Container-basierten Firewall.

 

 


 

Contrail HealthBot

Veröffentlicht Ende 2018 ist Contrail HealthBot – eine Software-basierte Lösung für Netzwerke – eine der neuesten Entwicklungen der Contrail-Produktfamilie. Contrail HealthBot bietet Netzwerkzustands- und Diagnosetools und greift hierzu auf verschiedene Datenerfassungsmethoden wie Junos Telemetry Interface (JTI), NETCONF, Syslog und SNMP zurück. Auf Geräteebene aggregiert und analysiert das Tool zeitsensible Telemetriedaten, um eine multidimensionale und prädiktive Sicht auf das Netzwerk zu ermöglichen. Durch die Kombination von Telemetrie, Programmierbarkeit, fortschrittlichen Algorithmen und Machine-Learning implementiert Contrail HealthBot effiziente Methoden zur optimierten Aufbereitung von Analysedaten für den Netzwerkbetrieb.


Das webbasierte Dashboard bietet eine einfache und intuitive Visualisierung des aktuellen Netzwerkzustands sowie einen Service-Designer, der die Wartung von Services und die Überwachung von Leistungszielen intelligent automatisiert. Durch die offene Programmierbarkeit können Service-Provider zudem ihre Arbeitsabläufe zur Zustandsüberwachung und Diagnose individuell anpassen.

 

 


FrauHerr

 

 

Hier finden Sie alle Informationen zum Datenschutz.