Within our SD-WAN tech blog, we have generally introduced the benefits of the software-defined wide-area network (SD-WAN) technology, which enables service providers to evolve their WAN connectivity offerings through a high degree of flexibility, visibility and control. But how can we implement this approach to gain these benefits? Which solutions exist on the market that can meet these expectations? In this tech blog, we take a closer look at the details of the Contrail SD-WAN from Juniper Networks.

 

Contrail SD-WAN – a comprehensive solution for the branch transformation

The branch transformation towards the software-defined branch (SD-Branch) and Multicloud starts with the connectivity enabled through SD-WAN, and Juniper Networks offers with their Contrail SD-WAN a comprehensive solution built on their secure and universal customer premise equipment (CPE), layered with software-defined networking for controller-based policy and management.

 

 

In the SD-WAN field, Juniper Networks takes advantage of their large technology portfolio, and experiences gained in the area of data centres and campus networks. With Contrail SD-WAN offers Juniper Networks high-efficient end-to-end security and automation capabilities satisfying the need for multi-cloud access.

 

The Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO) software platform builds the basis

The key element of the Contrail SD-WAN solution is the Juniper Networks Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO) software platform, delivering automation, simplicity and openness to the design. Operating within a multi-vendor, multi-tenant environment, it ensures secure implementation, analysis and management of each unique network. CSO can be used to oversee parts of the SD-WAN services infrastructure for enterprise customers, and it provides a customised, easy-to-use self-serve portal. The current version of this platform is CSO 4.1.0 released in March 2019.

Source: Software-Defined Branch as a Key Part of Multicloud (J-Net Forum)

The Contrail SD-WAN controller – which comes with CSO – is the “SD-WAN brain” of the solution and manages the devices, topology and CPE lifecycle management functionality. The SD-WAN orchestrator provides a global view of all resources and tenant management, end-to-end traffic orchestration, visibility, and monitoring. In addition to this, offers Contrail SD-WAN integrated Security with Intent-based policy management and a full security suite with NGFW, UTM, Sky ATP, etc.

 

CSO’s easy-to-use user interface

The web-based user interface of the CSO platform abstracts the complexity involved in creating and managing network services and uses Intent-based policies and SLA parameters to differentiate and direct traffic flows across the available paths as desired.

Contrail CSO – user interface

The demo videos below give good insight into the structure and functionality of the user interface. The video on the left side shows how easy it is to check applications, SLA performance or to generate SD-WAN performance reports within seconds. The video on the right introduces the simplicity of the provisioning process of new branches through Zero Touch Provisioning (ZTP) and how to create and push new Intent-based policies.

 

Contrail SD-WAN 4.0.2 Demo Video

Juniper SD-WAN Demonstration

 

On-premise and cloud spoke devices

One of the Questions that arises is what CPEs can be deployed with Contrail SD-WAN? In the image below you can see the supported on-premise spoke devices by the CSO platform with version CSO 4.1.0: the physical NFX250 or NFX150 platform, one of the physical SRX devices (SRX300, SRX550M, SRX4100, SRX4200) or the virtual vSRX running on an x86 server.

Source: Juniper Networks TechLibrary – SD-WAN Deployment Architectures

The NFX250 is Juniper’s primary CPE device capable of hosting a range of multivendor Virtualised Network Functions (VNFs) while within the Contrail SD-WAN solution a vSRX instance is orchestrated, providing the Gateway routing functionality.

 

Each device can have multiple WAN links to forward and receive data, and one of the WAN interfaces is used for OAM traffic to manage the on-premise device. In addition to those on-premise variants, you can also deploy the vSRX as a cloud spoke device in the Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC).

Contrail SD-WAN architecture – putting all together

We have learned that Juniper Networks Contrail SD-WAN is mainly built on the CSO software platform and the deployed CPEs. The figure below shows the common SD-WAN architecture, which includes multiple sites, multiple connections between those sites, an SD-WAN controller and multiple overlay tunnels.

The Contrail SD-WAN solution supports hub-and-spoke and dynamic mesh topologies. What does that mean? In the dynamic mesh deployment, each site has a CPE device like the NFX250 that connects to the other sites so that all sites are interconnected. In the hub-and-spoke implementation, a spoke device like the NFX250 is installed at the customer’s branch site connected to the customer LAN segments on the one hand and to the cloud hub device via the WAN interfaces on the other. The spoke device acts as a gateway and provides connectivity to other sites in the tenant network and the Internet.

Source: Juniper Networks TechLibrary – SD-WAN Deployment Architectures

There is at least one hub device which is owned by the service provider and resides within the provider’s point of presence (POP) and shared by multiple customers acting as SD-WAN Gateway and terminating tunnels from one or more spoke devices. In an enterprise environment, the cloud hub is owned by the customer and resides in the enterprise data centre. As Juniper Networks SD-WAN solution is based on standards like IPSec, the solution can also be integrated into existing gateways, which removes the need to deploy additional infrastructure. The hub devices supported by the Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO) platform with CSO Release 4.1 are shown in the image below.

Source: Juniper Networks TechLibrary – SD-WAN Deployment Architectures

Test Report by EANTC in 2018

In September 2018 the European Advanced Networking Test Centre (EANTC) completed an independent test report about the Contrail SD-WAN Solution from Juniper Networks. EANTC stated that test cases successfully verified Juniper’s claims of the Contrail SD-WAN being a secure, scalable and customizable solution with many add-on features corresponding to today’s and future service provider requirements.

Download:

 

 

Contrail SD-WAN – implemented in the XT3Lab

To give customers an insight into the functionality and benefits of Contrail SD-WAN, Xantaro operates a test installation in the XT3Lab. If you are interested in more details, please use the contact form below for a live demo of Contrail SD-WAN or even a practical approach via the Xantaro SD-WAN Accelerator pilot.

 

Link to Juniper’s official Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO) Documentation

 

Useful links for further information

 


MrMrsMs

 

 

Please find here further information regarding data protection.

In einem unserer letzten Tech-Blogs haben wir die Vorteile von SD-WAN – Software-definierter Wide-Area-Network-Technologie – vorgestellt, mit welcher Service-Provider ihre WAN-Konnektivitätsangebote durch ein hohes Maß an Flexibilität, Transparenz und Kontrolle weiterentwickeln können. Aber wie genau wird dieser Ansatz umgesetzt, um von den Vorteilen zu profitieren? Welche Lösungen existieren am Markt, die diese Erwartungen auch wirklich erfüllen? In diesem Tech-Blog werfen wir dazu einen genaueren Blick auf Contrail SD-WAN von Juniper Networks.

 

Contrail SD-WAN – eine umfassende Lösung

Die Transformation in Richtung von Software-definierter Branches (SD-Branch) und Multicloud beginnt mit der durch SD-WAN erreichten Konnektivität. Juniper Networks bietet dazu mit Contrail SD-WAN eine umfassende Lösung, die auf sicherem und universellem Customer Premise Equipment (CPE) aufbaut und Software-definiertes Netzwerken mit Controller-basiertem Management ermöglicht.

 

 

Bei der Umsetzung dieser SD-WAN-Lösung konnte Juniper Networks aus dem eigenen Technologieportfolio und Erfahrungen im Bereich Rechenzentren und Campusnetze schöpfen. So bietet Contrail SD-WAN eine hochskalierbare und hochredundante Plattform mit Multicloud-Integration an, um ganzheitliche Sicherheitsmerkmale und Automatisierungsfunktionen für SD-WAN-Installationen abzubilden.

 

Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO) bildet die Grundlage

Das Schlüsselelement von Contrail SD-WAN ist Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO) – eine Software-Plattform, die Automatisierung, Einfachheit und Offenheit des Designs umsetzt. CSO arbeitet in einer Multi-Vendor- und Multi-Tenant-Umgebung. Es gewährleistet die sichere Implementierung, Analyse und Verwaltung eines jeden Netzwerks und ermöglicht es, auch Teile der SD-WAN-Service-Infrastruktur für Unternehmenskunden zu überwachen. Zudem bietet CSO ein maßgeschneidertes, einfach zu bedienendes Self-Service-Portal. Die aktuelle Version dieser Plattform ist die im März 2019 veröffentlichte CSO 4.1.0.

Quelle: Software-Defined Branch as a Key Part of Multicloud (J-Net Forum)

Der Contrail SD-WAN-Controller – der mit CSO geliefert wird – ist das „Gehirn“ der Lösung und verwaltet Geräte, Topologien und den CPE-Lifecycle. Der SD-WAN-Orchestrator eröffnet eine globale Sicht auf alle Ressourcen sowie das Mandantenmanagement und ermöglicht Ende-zu-Ende Orchestrierung, Transparenz und Überwachung des Datenverkehrs.  Darüber hinaus sorgt Contrail SD-WAN für integrierte Sicherheit durch Intent-basiertes Policy Management und einer vollständigen Security-Suite mit NGFW, UTM, Sky ATP, usw.

 

Die einfach zu bedienende Benutzeroberfläche von CSO

Die webbasierte Benutzeroberfläche der CSO-Plattform abstrahiert die Komplexität der Erstellung und Verwaltung von Netzwerkdiensten und verwendet Intent-basierte Richtlinien und SLA-Parameter, um Verkehrsströme über die verfügbaren Pfade beliebig zu differenzieren und zu steuern.

Contrail CSO – Benutzeroberfläche

Die folgenden Demo-Videos geben einen guten Einblick in die Struktur und Funktionalität der Benutzeroberfläche. Das „Contrail SD-WAN 4.0.2 Demo Video“ zeigt, wie einfach es ist, Anwendungen und SLA-Leistung zu überprüfen oder SD-WAN-Leistungsberichte innerhalb von Sekunden zu erstellen. Das Video „Juniper SD-WAN Demonstration“ stellt die Einfachheit des Bereitstellungsprozesses neuer Niederlassungen durch Zero Touch Provisioning (ZTP) vor und zeigt, wie neue Intent-basierte Richtlinien erstellt und verbreitet werden.

 

Contrail SD-WAN 4.0.2 Demo Video

Juniper SD-WAN Demonstration

 

Spoke-Geräte – vor Ort oder in der Cloud

Eine wichtige Frage ist, welche CPEs mit Contrail SD-WAN verwendet werden können. Das folgende Bild zeigt die von CSO in Version 4.1.0 unterstützten On-Premise-Spoke-Geräte beim Kunden: die physischen NFX250- und NFX150-Plattformen, die SRX300-, SRX550M-, SRX4100- oder SRX4200-Geräte oder die auf einem x86-Server betriebene virtuelle vSRX.

Quelle: Juniper Networks TechLibrary – SD-WAN Deployment Architectures

Juniper Networks‘ NFX250 ist hierbei das primäre Gerät, das eine Reihe von Multivendor Virtualised Network Functions (VNFs) hosten kann, während innerhalb der Contrail SD-WAN-Lösung eine vSRX-Instanz orchestriert wird, welche die Gateway-Routing-Funktionalität bereitstellt.

 

Jedes Gerät kann mit mehreren WAN-Verbindungen für das Empfangen und Weiterleiten von Traffic eingerichtet werden. Dabei wird eine der WAN-Schnittstellen zudem für den OAM-Verkehr verwendet, um das Gerät zu verwalten. Zusätzlich zu den On-Premise-Varianten kann die vSRX auch als Cloud-Spoke-Instanz in der Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) eingesetzt werden.

Contrail SD-WAN-Architektur – alles zusammengefügt

Wie wir wissen, basiert Juniper Networks Contrail SD-WAN im Kern auf der CSO-Software-Plattform und den eingesetzten CPEs. Die folgende Abbildung zeigt eine grobe Skizze einer üblichen SD-WAN-Architektur, die mehrere Standorte, mehrere Verbindungen zwischen diesen, einen SD-WAN-Controller und mehrere Overlay-Tunnel umfasst.

Contrail SD-WAN unterstützt Hub-and-Spoke– sowie dynamische Mesh-Topologien. Doch was bedeuten sie? Bei der dynamischen Mesh-Implementierung verfügt jeder Standort über ein CPE-Gerät, z.B. vom Typ NFX250, das sich mit den anderen Standorten verbindet, so dass alle Standorte miteinander vernetzt sind. In der Hub-and-Spoke-Implementierung wird ein Spoke-Gerät – z.B. vom Typ NFX250 – in der Niederlassung des Kunden installiert, das einerseits mit den Kunden-LAN-Segmenten und andererseits über die WAN-Schnittstellen mit dem Cloud-Hub verbunden ist. Das Spoke-Gerät fungiert als Gateway; es ermöglicht die Verbindung sowohl zu anderen Standorten des Kundennetzes als auch zum Internet.

 

Quelle: Juniper Networks TechLibrary – SD-WAN Deployment Architectures

Bei dieser Implementierung ist mindestens ein Cloud-Hub-Gerät des Service-Providers in einem Point-of-Presence (POP) installiert und wird von mehreren Kunden gemeinsam genutzt. Das Hub-Gerät fungiert als SD-WAN-Gateway und terminiert Tunnel von einem oder mehreren Spoke-Geräten (CPEs). In einer Enterprise-Umgebung befindet sich das Cloud-Hub-Gerät im Besitz des Kunden und wird meist im Rechenzentrum des Unternehmens installiert. Da die SD-WAN-Lösung von Juniper Networks auf Standards wie IPSec basiert, kann sie auch in bestehende Gateways integriert werden, wodurch die Bereitstellung zusätzlicher Geräte für die Infrastruktur entfällt. Die von der CSO-Plattform mit Release 4.1 unterstützten Hub-Geräte sind in der folgenden Abbildung dargestellt.

Quelle: Juniper Networks TechLibrary – SD-WAN Deployment Architectures

Testbericht des EANTC im Jahr 2018

Im September 2018 veröffentlichte das European Advanced Networking Test Centre (EANTC) einen unabhängigen Testbericht zu Juniper Networks‘ Contrail SD-WAN-Lösung. EANTC bestätigte mit den durchgeführten Tests, dass Contrail SD-WAN eine sichere, skalierbare und anpassbare Lösung mit vielen Zusatzfunktionen ist, die heutigen sowie zukünftigen Anforderungen von Service-Providern gerecht wird.

Download:

 

 

Contrail SD-WAN – live im XT3Lab

Um Kunden einen Einblick in die Funktionalität und den weiteren Nutzen von Contrail SD-WAN zu geben, betreibt Xantaro im eigenen XT3Lab eine entsprechende Testinstallation. Für weitere Details zu Contrail SD-WAN und/oder einer Live-Demo, kontaktieren Sie uns gerne direkt über das Kontaktformular.

 

Link zur offiziellen Contrail Service Orchestration (CSO) Dokumentation von Juniper

 

Nützliche Links für weitere Informationen

 


FrauHerr

 

 

Hier finden Sie alle Informationen zum Datenschutz.