The network infrastructure on which telcos, service providers and mobile network operators depend today is complex, having evolved over time into an intricate mass of legacy hardware and software systems. This can make the allocation of physical network resources in data centres, points of presence, radio access networks and core/edge infrastructure to support the provisioning of on demand cloud service workloads a slow and complex task.

Our INFRASTRUCTURE ABSTRACTION area provides solutions for Software Defined Networking (SDN) and Network Function Virtualisation (NFV) to deliver virtual network overlays that abstract resources from the underlying hardware infrastructure and dynamically assign them to automated virtual workloads.

Software Defined Networking (SDN)

  • Using tunneling protocols to build paths between SDN controllers and hypervisors, creating virtual network containers isolated from one another for single or multi-tenanted cloud service provisioning requirements.

  • Delivering support for segmented network resources which can be allocated to specific customers, customer groups or types of cloud services to help ensure availability where required.

  • Decoupling the control plane from the data plane to simplify network routing and forwarding functions and allow centralised infrastructure management and traffic control.

  • Supporting application programming interfaces (APIs) which can be used to program applications directly to virtual network resources.

  • Utilising protocols such as Virtual Extensible LAN (VXLAN), network virtualisation generic encapsulation (NVGRE) and stateless transport tunneling (STT) to support WAN based virtual overlays which span multiple hosting facilities to meet service scalability and resilience purposes, as well as virtual networks over multiple branch offices.

Network Function Virtualisation

  • VIRTUALISED NETWORK FUNCTIONS
    Moving away from stacking boxes and providing network functions by using virtualized appliances.

  • SERVICE CHAINING
    Dynamically and automatically combining individual services into service chains enables us to hand craft use case driven solutions instantly.

  • SCALING ON DEMAND
    Starting with a small footprint helps to keep costs down when first deploying a solution; adding additional resources when the demand increases or peak load occur can be as easy as spinning up additional instances. No need to haul in additional equipment.

DATA CENTRE INFRASTRUCTURE ABSTRACTION

  • SCALING
    Solutions for high scale data centres to scale beyond traditional boundaries of legacy technology such as 4096 tenants (vlans) per layer 2 infrastructure or a given amount of ports per device.

  • OVERLAY ARCHITECTURES
    Overlay networks to enable traditional data centre infrastructures to connect across data centre islands spread across the whole world to provide applications or services by the cloud.

INFRASTRUCTURE ABSTRACTION Technology Partners

Die Netzwerke von Telcos, Service-Providern und Mobilfunkanbietern sind komplex und haben sich – dank immer neuer Technologien – über die Jahre zu unübersichtlichen Architekturen aus Hard- und Software-Systemen entwickelt. Dies macht die Zuweisung physischer Netzwerkressourcen in Rechenzentren, Points-of-Presence, Radio-Access-Netzen und Core- / Edge-Infrastrukturen zur Unterstützung der Bereitstellung von On-Demand-Cloud-Services zu einer komplexen, zeitintensiven Aufgabe.

Unser Technologiebereich INFRASTRUCTURE ABSTRACTION bietet Software Defined Networking (SDN) und Network Function Virtualisation (NFV) Lösungen zur Bereitstellung virtueller Netzwerk-Overlays, welche Ressourcen aus der zugrundeliegenden Hardware-Infrastruktur abstrahieren und dynamisch automatisierten und virtualisierten Systemen zuordnen.

Software Defined Networking (SDN)

  • Erstellung von Pfaden zwischen SDN-Controllern und Hypervisors durch Tunneling-Protokolle zur Bereitstellung voneinander getrennter virtueller Netzwerk-Container zur Abbildung von Cloud-Diensten, die dediziert oder mehreren Parteien, welche voneinander getrennt und isoliert werden können, zur Verfügung stehen.

  • Unterstützung segmentierter Netzwerkressourcen, die bestimmten Kunden, Kundengruppen oder Cloud-Services zugewiesen werden können, um die Verfügbarkeit zu gewährleisten.

  • Entkopplung der Control- von der Data-Plane zur Vereinfachung von Netzwerk-Routing- und Weiterleitungsfunktionen sowie zentralisiertes Infrastruktur-Management und Verkehrssteuerung.

  • Unterstützung von Application-Programming-Interfaces (APIs), mit denen Anwendungen direkt auf virtuelle Netzwerkressourcen programmiert werden können.

  • Verwendung von Protokollen wie Virtual Extensible LAN (VXLAN), Network Virtualisation Generic Encapsulation (NVGRE) und Stateless Transport Tunneling (STT) zur Unterstützung WAN-basierter virtueller Overlays, die sich über mehrere Hosting-Standorte erstrecken, um Service-Skalierbarkeit und Resilience-Zwecke sowie Virtual-Netzwerke über mehrere Neiderlassungen zu gewährleisten.

NETWORK FUNCTION VIRTUALISATION

  • VIRTUALISED NETWORK FUNCTIONS
    Bereitstellung von Netzwerkfunktionen mit Hilfe virtualisierter Appliances anstelle Stapelns von mehr und mehr “Boxen”.

  • SERVICE CHAINING
    Dynamische und automatische Kombination einzelner Services in Dienstleistungsketten ermöglichen die sofortige Umsetzung individualisierter und anwendungsspezifischer Lösungen.

  • SCALING ON DEMAND
    Möglichkeit zum Start im kleinen Rahmen und Ausbau einer Lösung um zusätzliche Ressourcen entsprechend steigender Nachfrage oder Erreichen des Auslastungsmaximum – einfach und ohne zusätzliche Hardware.

DATA CENTRE INFRASTRUCTURE ABSTRACTION

  • SCALING
    Lösungen für High-Performanz-Rechenzentren, die über traditionelle technologische Grenzen hinausgehen wie 4096 Nutzer (VLANs) pro Layer-2-Infrastruktur oder eine bestimmte Port-Anzahl pro Gerät.

  • OVERLAY ARCHITECTURES
    Overlay-Netze ermöglichen die Verbindung traditioneller DC-Infrastrukturen zu weltweiten Standorten/Rechenzentren und Bereitstellung von Applikationen und Services über die Cloud.

INFRASTRUCTURE ABSTRACTION Technoloiepartner