Leading Data Centre Connectivity

Our customer owns and operates 14 fibre based metropolitan networks in five countries, connected with a high capacity intercity backbone reaching 49 cities in 15 countries. This company is a leading data centre connectivity provider in Europe, providing fibre, wavelengths and Ethernet services to the financial, media and wholesale markets, directly connecting over 300 key data centres.

 

Financial trading requires low-latency

One of the essential requirements of this project was to support our client’s financial trading customers needing high-speed low-latency connectivity from London to Essex, a major financial services hub. Infinera’s Cloud Xpress was chosen as the solution because it provides hyper-scale density, operational simplicity, low power consumption and low latency. Especially, because in the financial industry low latency trading demands are critical. Furthermore, Cloud Xpress matches perfectly as a solution for space and power restricted metro facilities while providing high input and output capacity.

Infinera Cloud Xpress for Data Center Interconnect (DCI)

Infinera Cloud Xpress

Another element of our solution was the deployment of Infinera’s TM-Series in Paris for providing a high-performance metro Ethernet network for our customers enterprise clients. Therefore, we have jointly worked together with our customer to install the Infinera TM-Series, with low power, high density, and efficiency in a single platform, for connecting 17 new sites across the city. As a result, our customer could extend his connectivity offerings to new enterprise and data centre clients.

 

Results

Our customer and other operators alike continue to see a tremendous demand for bandwidth, especially in space and power limited metro locations. The Infinera Cloud Xpress platform is purpose-built for high-capacity data center interconnect which explicitly addresses needs where packet optical transport services may require 10 Gb/s to 100 Gb/s. Furthermore, Cloud Xpress provides scalability for significant growth in traffic, while being efficient due to space saving and lower operational costs. In addition to this, the Infinera TM-Series is ideal to address the needs of customers, from the access to the metro core.

 


Download Article

Xantaro – Data Centre Interconnect London & Paris (EN)

 

PROJECT-OVERVIEW


CLIENT SECTOR

  • Bandwidth Infrastructure Provider

 

ENVIRONMENT

  • High capacity intercity backbone
  • London to Essex – financial services hub
  • Metro connectivity with 17 sites in Paris
  • Space and power restricted metro facilities

 

TECHNOLOGY NEEDS

  • Low-latency
  • Hyper-scale density

 

SYSTEMS

  • Infinera Cloud Xpress
  • Infinera TM Series

Führend bei der Anbindung von Rechenzentren

Unser Kunde besitzt und betreibt 14 Metro-Glasfaser-Netzwerke in fünf Ländern, die über ein Hochleistungs-Intercity-Backbone verbunden sind und somit insgesamt 49 Städte in 15 Ländern erreicht. Das Unternehmen ist ein führender Anbieter von Rechenzentrumskonnektivität in Europa und bietet Glasfaser-, Wellenlängen- und Ethernet-Services für die Finanz-, Medien- und Großhandelsmärkte, und verbindet über 300 zentrale Rechenzentren miteinander.

 

Finanztransaktionen erfordern bestmögliche Latenz

Eine der wesentlichen Projektanforderungen war es die Kunden aus dem Finanzsektor mit High-Speed- und Low-Latency-Konnektivität zwischen London und Essex, einem bedeutenden Finanzdienstleistungszentrum, zu versorgen. Infineras Cloud-Xpress wurde als System gewählt, da es die Kriterien sehr hohe Skalierbarkeit, einfache Bedienung, geringer Stromverbrauch und niedrige Latenz erfüllt. Insbesondere, da in der Finanzindustrie niedrige Latenzanforderungen kritisch sind. Darüber hinaus ist Cloud Xpress eine perfekte Lösung für Anlagen mit begrenztem Platzangebot.

Infinera Cloud Xpress für Data Center Interconnect (DCI)

Infinera Cloud Xpress

 

Ein weiterer Bestandteil unserer Lösung war der Einsatz von Infineras TM-Serie in Paris für die Bereitstellung eines hochleistungsfähigen Metro-Ethernet-Netzwerks für die Unternehmenskunden unseres Klienten. Die TM Serie Plattform zeichnet sich besonders durch ihre gute Effizienz, geringen Stromverbrauch und einer hohen Kapazitätsdichte aus. Gemeinsam mit unserem Klienten wurde die TM-Serie vor Ort installiert, um 17 neue Standorte in der Stadt zu verbinden. Dadurch konnte unser Klient seine Konnektivitätsangebote für neue Unternehmen und Rechenzentrums-Kunden erweitern.

 

Ergebnisse

Unsere Kunden und andere Provider sehen weiterhin eine enorme Nachfrage nach Bandbreite, insbesondere in räumlich und stromlimitierten Standorten. Die Infinera Cloud Xpress-Plattform wurde speziell für die Verbindung von Rechenzentren mit hoher Kapazität entwickelt, die explizit Anforderungen erfüllt, bei denen optische Transportdienste 10 Gbit/s bis 100 Gbit/s erfordern. Darüber hinaus bietet Cloud Xpress Skalierbarkeit für ein signifikantes Wachstum im Traffic und gleichzeitig eine hohe Effizienz durch Platzersparnis und niedrigere Betriebskosten. Darüber hinaus ist Infineras TM-Serie ideal für die Bedürfnisse der Kunden vom Access zum Core-Netzwerk.

 


Artikel herunterladen

Xantaro – Data Centre Interconnect London & Paris (DE)

 


 

PROJEKT-ÜBERBLICK


KUNDENSEKTOR

  • Bandbreiteninfrastruktur Anbieter

 

UMGEBUNG

  • Intercity-Backbone mit hoher Kapazität
  • Von London zu Essex – Finanzdienstleistungszentrum
  • Metro-Anbindung mit 17 Standorten in Paris
  • Raum und Strom beschränkte Anlagen

ANFORDERUNGEN

  • Bestmögliche Latenz
  • Hohe Kapazitätsdichte

 

SYSTEME

  • Infinera Cloud Xpress
  • Infinera TM Serie